top of page

DA2 Final Project: MadMapper








For our final project, I decided to work with the shadows of sunglasses to project onto. I still am new to digital art so figuring out MadMapper and what kind of objects would work best for it was tricky. It was also hard to decide due to how I wasn’t going to be able to save projects and also had not seen the space where we were going to exhibit. I chose to work with sunglasses because they were easy to carry from one space to the next and I enjoyed how their shadows looked on the wall. When putting together the hanging glasses, I had to start over several times as the string kept getting tangled or wasn’t strong enough and the glasses kept falling. After finally finding a method to hang the glasses that worked, I started collecting videos to project into and around the lenses. I chose videos of places and people along with using the provided effects in MadMapper. The message that I wanted to express within my piece was how you will never get someone’s full story just by looking at them, you have to look within their shadows and what they have experienced to truly understand them. By just looking at the glasses, you hardly could see the projections, but when you looked past the glasses at their shadows, you suddenly saw the videos so much more clearly. Overall, this project was an exciting challenge that I’m glad that I got to be apart of and experience. I feel like I have learned a lot within this course and have enjoyed growing and improving within digital art.


bottom of page